“Everything that you have done and continue to do, through your faith and devotion for your guru, I see it all.” — H.H. Karmapa

Transcript Excerpt: His Holiness Karmapa’s concluding Remarks, July 19, 2011, Karma Triyana Dharmachakra

Photo, Sarite Sanders

As is obvious, I have returned to the United States of America. It’s interesting that America was the first foreign country I was able to visit, and now in my second international trip, I’ve come back to America. Maybe my third trip will be to America again. In fact, maybe I should just recite “America”, like “OM AMERICA SOHA”, as a mantra.

The Sixteenth Gyalwang Karmapa came to this country several times, and this is my second time here, so it’s clear that the lineage of the Gyalwang Karmapa and the people of America have a profound connection.

I’m very very happy, therefore, to be together with you again, and I’d like to say again, this opportunity did not arise instantaneously. It was a product of the aspirations of the Sixteenth Gyalwang Karmapa and a great deal of very hard work and preparation on the part of a lot of people. Therefore, I want to thank them for making this visit of two or three weeks possible.

The United States of America is a very important country in terms of this world in general. The people of the America have the potential ability to powerfully impact the future well-being of this world, to create world peace and nonviolence. So you have that important ability and responsibility. The most important thing in this regard is that in this country of America development be not limited to external, material technology. There should also be regard for the internal, the development and understanding of the brain, and also include development of the heart, nourishment of the mind, nourishment of the spirit. It is in the service of this that I have visited this country and I place my hopes in you to bring this about. This is important.

Photo, Sarite Sanders

Karma Triyana Dharmachakra was founded more than thirty years ago. (l say more than thirty years because I am not good at counting exact numbers. I sometimes get my own age wrong.) Throughout these thirty years, it has been headed by the Venerable Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche. We have an expression, before we mention a great teacher by name, we say “although his name is difficult to utter, I do so for the sake of clarity.” Well, in the case of Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche, his name is not difficult to utter; it is unnecessary to utter because he is so well known. He has now reached the age of eighty-eight and has during the more than thirty years of his service here fulfilled all of the hopes and aspirations of the Gyalwang Karmapa. He has served as the guide and head for all of our centers, so I want to thank him. But I also want to thank all of the other lamas who have assisted him, some of whom are deceased, also Bardor Tulku Rinpoche, and President Tenzin Chonyi-la, and all of the other officers and administrators of Karma Triyana Dharmachakra, of the KTCs and all of the disciples and students of all of them.

Everything that you have done and continue to do, through your faith and devotion for your guru, I see it all. I see everything that you do with your bodies, speech, and minds in service to the teachings and the centers. To say thank you is utterly insufficient, but if I did not say it, that would be a severe omission. So therefore, I say to all of you, from my heart, thank you. And as for the future, I have the great hope of continuing to support you and help you in every way. Thank you, Yeshe Gyamtso. Now we’re really done.

Photo, Sarite Sanders

Translator – Lama Yeshe Gyamtso
Transcribed by – Jeanette DeFries, Megan Johnston
Edited by – Karen Lucic

Sarite Sanders event photos,  July 19th.

Karmapa in America 2011 Visit Blog

Leave a Reply

